Exploring Alabama’s Oldest City!

20141120_103355Over the past few days I’ve had the opportunity to explore Mobile and meet several really nice people.  And I’ve got say it’s an honour to be starting this adventure right here, an area rich in history! 

Located in the Gulf of Mexico and Founded in 1702 – Mobile is Alabama’s Oldest City! It was the Spanish explorer Alonzo Álvarez Pineda who first explored the area in 1519. It’s also the birth place of Mardi Gras! The oldest annual Carnival celebration in the United States, since 1703! This was fifteen years before New Orleans was founded.

Here’s something I want to do…. the Underground Railway Bicycle Route. It’s a bicycle route you can take to explore the path.  This might have be my next adventure!

Let me back up to my arrival…  

Getting off the plane, I was greeted & welcomed by Mobile Bay Canoe & Kayak Club’s coordinator – Tracy, whom I had been corresponding with for the past several months, via emails, it was finally nice to have met her and then later her husband, David.

While in Mobile…

img_3091I had a pretty neat experience sitting in on a Toastmaster’s meeting and then sharing with them my upcoming journey.  Very friendly group of people with encouraging words.     Thank you!


img_3124a

I love learning about history, so when the the opportunity arrived, I jumped all over it to go exploring in the History Museum of Mobile with Lori McDuffie – Curator of Collections and Nick Beeson – Registrar

Here’s a small glimpse at this awesome experience….

Getting a peek at some of the museum’s collections in the backrooms, which was absolutely cool and I could talk about it for hours!

An almost 1000 year old Samurai Warrior Uniform

An almost 1000 year old Samurai Warrior Uniform

However, one of Lori’s favourite museum items was an almost 1000 year old samurai warrior uniform.  Of course, like you, I had to ask, “How the heck does a samurai warrior uniform end up in Mobile?”.  Laurie explained that since Mobile was a main port for boats, it was obtained through missionaries, who had gone over seas way back when.  As time passed, the uniform was passed onto the museum.  

As you wonder through the many fascinating exhibits, its hard to believe there is still so much more in storage. 

I definitely have to thank Lori & Nick for the personal tour of their museum and I would encourage others to stop in and learn more about the history of Mobile.

img_3128a


  • Passing over a bridge, I glanced over…my jaw dropped!

It was a real life battle ship!  

The USS Alabama – commissioned in 1942 during WWII.

Keep in mind that I grew up in Central Canada, so something like this was really amazing to see.   It was nothing like the sling shots & potato guns we had….. I’m pretty sure my American friends tears of laugher were more out of mad jealousy and someone tried to slip me a $20 for the blueprints.


  • Early morning walk…


  • FM Talk 106.5 – Radio Interview with Sean Sullivan
  • Mobile Baykeeper –  Great group of new friends!  An organization dedicated to providing citizens a means to protect the beauty, health and heritage of the Mobile Bay Watershed and their coastal communities.  Gotta love it!

mobile-baykeepers_sept-30-2016

1 Logo

About One Canadian's Journey

I'm just One Canadian out and about, exploring the world around me.
This entry was posted in Food, Historical Locations, Humor, Life, Marina, People and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Exploring Alabama’s Oldest City!

  1. Matt says:

    The Oldest city in the U.S is St. Augustine, Fl. That will be well worth your stop on the other side of Florida.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

