How it came to be

1c LogoSeveral years ago, while working and living in the middle of the prairies, ya, nowhere near the oceans, I was reading & researching what it would be like to live & travel on a sailboat. It was an idea I was toying with for when I could retire.

One day I came across a website that talked about people retiring and boating along The Great Loop. It was the first time I had heard about The Great Loop. As I looked further into what it was, it became something I wanted to do. It was a dream that I would keep in the back of my mind for several years.

Time continued to pass….and as with most things in life, it takes a turn and you have to deal with the cards you’re given at that moment – Why I do what I do.  

As a result, it got me thinking…

In my mind, it would be years before I could even consider doing this type of an adventure, but I wasn’t about to “wait and see what happens”. I wanted to figure out how I could do it now, not later. I sarcastically snickered to myself, “I’ll do it by kayak”. But then the snickering turned into curiosity. Was it possible to do it by kayak?  Of course it could be done, I just had to figure out how.

From there on in, I spent a lot of time in coffee shops with my laptop, researching, planning, going over the route, breaking it down by seasons / months / weeks and days of when & where I would have to be, how many miles I would have to paddle per day…and researching everything else I could find about this route.  

One morning, my hopes of it being a possibility turned into… Totally doable by kayak!  I was pretty pumped and excited. I had set my sights & goal to start The Great Loop in six months.

That’s how it came to be…. 

1 Logo

About One Canadian's Journey

I'm just One Canadian out and about, exploring the world around me.
This entry was posted in Humor, The Great Loop and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How it came to be

  1. Kalispell Moore says:

    It’s going to be an incredible experience, I look forward to reading all about it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

